A Further Light


My sister and I searched the garden at nighttime,

Hoping to catch fairies spreading their sparkling dust.

Once Lucille fell over the stone into the puddle.

All we got were wet knees and muddy shoes

And a hope of something beyond a veil of our own making.

The wet and the cold always go with shadows.

We learned that without illumination one step separates us

From a finite scolding easily replaceable by the next night’s search.

 

In a grand cathedral my camera snaps

Admiring the hues of a Last Supper scene.

I turn my eyes with reverential intent to the tradition’s art,

When my heart catches the gold of the resurrected Jesus

That pulls me into the light of candles lit for prayers’ ascent.

I saw altar candles illuminate eternity.

A voice calls me, and I turn to answer.

So I walked and walk on in glimpses of a further light.

2 thoughts on “A Further Light

  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did
    you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to
    do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from.
    thank you

    1. Forget the actual poetry, right? I got the theme from what wordpress has the choose from. I know zero about designing blogs, so I just picked it from what wordpress has to choose from. I just clicked “Use,” and it did it all for me.

Leave a Reply

