Looking For Poems


I’m on a poem walk,

Searching all about.

I look for poems,

Every time I go out.

 

Some heavy, some hollow

Some squishy or flat

Some tend to follow

And some fly like a bat

 

Hanging in the air

Or sprouting from the ground

I pick them all up,

Make them fit and sound.

 

I brush off some commas,

Straighten out some ink

What rhymes? – llamas?

I’ll find some link!

 

Graft in,

pull out

Verbs, adjectives, adverbs,

Become paramount!

 

Poems all around!

They’re everywhere, you see.

They wait without a sound

For themselves to come to be.

 

Twisted in the leaves,

Draped over a sign,

They wait for the words

That will give them design.

 

Beneath a tree

Or reflected in a puddle

They’re waiting for someone

Them to un-muddle

 

People ignore,

Pass right on by

But they’re there all the same

For you to espy.

 

I’m on a poem walk,

Searching all about.

I’m looking for poems,

Every time I go out. 


4 thoughts on “Looking For Poems

    1. I know right! I’m always scrambling to find a time to go looking, between work, class, and papers. Why can’t they just introduce themselves?? 🙂 Thanks for reading, Jessica.

      Caroline

Leave a Reply

